Back to news Grants

LEH Seeks Poet Laureate Nominations

The LEH is now accepting nominations for Louisiana’s next Poet Laureate.

An LEH-appointed selection committee, as required by legislation, is now soliciting nominations of poets, either born or domiciled in Louisiana, at the time of nomination. The committee will gather input from the general public and the literary community, and will elect nominees who reflect the diverse cultures and heritage of Louisiana. Committee members are ineligible, and a poet may not self-nominate.

The deadline for nominations is March 1, 2017. The committee will deliberate throughout March, and submit finalists to the governor, who will choose a nominee, subject to state senate confirmation. A final announcement will be made in May 2017.

Louisiana is blessed with a long history of poetry and great poets. Past poet laureates selected under this legislation include Brenda Marie Osbey, Darrell Bourque, Julie Kane, Ava Leavell Haymon, and Peter Cooley. Cooley’s term ends in May 2017.

For more on the nomination process, click here, orĀ contact Brian Boyles at 504.620.2632 orĀ