Back to news Initiatives

LEH Accepting Nominations for Louisiana Poet Laureate 2015-17

Ava Leavell Haymon
Ava Leavell Haymon

The LEH, authorized by the Governor and State of Louisiana, is seeking nominations for Louisiana’s next Poet Laureate. The LEH has appointed a selection committee, as required by state legislation.

Committee members include Miranda Restovic, Interim President of the LEH; Brian Boyles, Vice President of Content for the LEH; Darrell Bourque, PhD, professor emeritus, University of Louisiana at Lafayette; Reggie Young, PhD, professor, University of Louisiana at Lafayette; Jack Heflin, poet and professor at the University of Louisiana at Monroe; John Biguenet, poet and playwright, Loyola University, New Orleans; MaryKatherine Callaway, LSU Press director, Baton Rouge.

The selection committee is now soliciting nominations of poets either born or domiciled in Louisiana at the time of nomination. The selection committee will submit three finalists to the governor, from whom he shall choose a nominee, subject to state senate confirmation. Nominees shall have published works in books, anthologies, literary journals or magazines. The selection committee will seek input from the general public, and the literary community, and shall select nominees who reflect the diverse cultures and heritage of Louisiana. A poet may not self-nominate. Committee members may not be nominated. The selection committee will deliberate in March 2015 and make its recommendations to the governor. A final announcement will be made in May 2015.

The poet laureate shall serve a two-year term and deliver an annual public reading in the state as designated by the LEH. Poet laureates may not serve two consecutive terms.

Letters of nomination should be specific as to the above criteria. The deadline for nominations is February 27, 2015.

Louisiana is blessed with a long history of poetry and great poets. Past Poet Laureates selected under this legislation include Brenda Marie Osbey, Darrell Bourque, Julie Kane, and Ava Leavell Haymon. Haymon’s term ends in May 2015.

Send nominations to:

Miranda Restovic, Chair, Poet Laureate Panel     
Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities 
938 Lafayette St., Suite 300 
New Orleans, LA 70113
[email protected]

For more information, contact Brian Boyles at 504.620.2632 or